Cisco Live 2013

Going to Cisco Live 2013 will be my first appearance at the convention that gathers the brightest minds in networking. I’ll have the opportunity to learn new technology, ways to advance my current infrastructure, and interact with the many people whom I speak with on Twitter and IRC. Just to state the obvious, I am beyond myself with excitement.
Over the past year I was assigned to take over the wireless infrastrucuture at my current position. I have had to go from almost zero knowledge to being able to migrate to new controllers, add security, redesign the entire way our end users use wireless, and learn the mysterious ins-and-outs of RF. It has been a great journey and I’ve been very proud to have been given the opportunity. With that being said I have a majority of my scheduled classes revolving around wireless technologies.

I also will be taking the CCIE Wireless Written exam on Monday afternoon. I know I am far less than ready to pass this exam, but if you don’t try you’ll never succeed. I figure it is a free test, my other certifications are up to day, and I’ve got nothing to lose. There is a severe lack of training material for CCIE Wireless compared to other tracks, but hopefully the CWNP books and CCIE Wireless Quick Reference book give me enough of an edge to squeeze out a pass.

Monday – June 24
8:00AM – 9:30AM: BRKEWN-2018 – RF Standards Update
10:00AM – 12:00PM: BRKEWN-3010 – Understanding and Deploying the CleanAir Technology to Improve Enterprise WLAN Spectrum Management
1:00PM – 3:00PM: BRKCRT-9105 – CCNA Wireless, master the 802.11 protocols!
2:00PM: CCIE Wireless Written Exam
7:00PM: INE Party at Hard Rock

Tuesday – June 25
8:00AM – 9:30AM: BRKDCT-2218 – Scalable Midsize Data Center Designs
10:00AM – 12:15PM: Tomorrow Starts Here Keynote
12:30PM – 2:30PM: BRKEWN-3011 – Troubleshooting Wireless LANs
3:00PM – 4:30PM: BRKSEC-2202 – Understanding and Preventing Layer 2 Attacks in IPv4 Networks

Wednesday – June 26
8:00AM – 9:30AM: BRKARC-3472 – NX-OS Routing Architecture and Best Practices
10:00AM – 1:30PM: Unlocking the Value of Innovation Keynote
1:30PM – 3:30PM: BRKEWN-2017 – Understanding RF Fundamentals and the Radio Design of Wireless Networks
4:00PM – 6:00PM: BRKSEC-3045 – Advanced ISE and Secure Access Deployment
7:30PM: Cisco Customer Appreciate Event at Universal Studios

Thursday – June 27
8:00AM – 9:30AM: BRKSPM-2007 – High Density WiFi networks for Stadiums and Large Public Venues
10:00AM – 11:30AM: BRKCRT-8104 – Deploying Cisco ASA Firewall Solutions for CCNP Security
12:30PM – 2:00PM: BRKEWN-3014 – Best Practices to Deploy High-Availibilty in Wireless LAN Architectures
2:30PM – 3:30PM: Celebrity Closing Keynote
4:00PM – 6:00PM: BRKEWN-3021 – Troubleshooting Converged Access Wireless Deployments

I hope to see a lot of you at Cisco Live this year! I know I’m already in the hole with Jennifer Huber and Sam Clements for drinks, since I’ve been bugging them so much over the year.

Leave a Reply

